Parkour UK shortlisted for ‘NGB of the Year’ in the Women’s Sport Trust #BeAGameChanger Awards 2018

Parkour UK are very proud to be shortlisted for ‘NGB of the Year’ in the Women’s Sport Trust #BeAGameChanger Awards 2018 for the second year running! 

Women’s Sport Trust has revealed the 56 individuals, organisations and initiatives who have made the shortlist for the 2018 #BeAGameChanger Awards.

The awards bring together the visionaries and game changers driving the future of women’s sport for one of the biggest nights in the sporting calendar.  

One of the awards is Individual Sporting Role Model, awarded to an elite athlete who has used their influence to drive forward women’s sport. This year’s shortlist includes England hockey captain and Olympic medalist Alex Danson, first woman to sail non-stop around the world solo Dee Caffari, England centurion and Chelsea forward Eniola Aluko, GB wheelchair racer and ten-time world champion Hannah Cockroft, Afghan-Danish Manchester City striker Nadia Nadim and professional boxer Stacey Copeland. Past winners include Nicola Adams MBE, Andy Murray and Dame Sarah Storey. 

Other categories include: Sporting Role Model – Team; Ambassador of Women’s Sport; National Governing Body of the Year; Brand / Sponsor Partnership of the Year; Inspiring Initiative – National and Local; Media Initiative of the Year; and Imagery of the Year. An award for Outstanding Contribution to Women’s Sport will be chosen by Women’s Sport Trust and presented on the night of the awards. 

Jo Bostock, Co-founder and Joint CEO of the Women’s Sport Trust commented “Why is the Women’s Sport Trust so committed to running the #BeAGameChanger Awards? Because compelling stories about the trailblazers need to be told. They set the pace and show what’s possible. Most importantly they stimulate other brands, sport and the media to step up and take action. Building this momentum will ensure the future of women’s sport.” 

Following a public nomination process, the shortlist was agreed by the Women’s Sport Trust Board. The finalists in each category will be chosen by an expert panel before a public vote decides the winners. The winners will be announced at the #BeAGameChanger Awards on 24 May 2018 at Troxy, East London.

 The full shortlist is as follows:

 Sporting Role Model – Individual

·       Alex Danson

·       Dee Caffari

·       Eniola Aluko

·       Hannah Cockroft

·       Nadia Nadim

·       Stacey Copeland


Sporting Role Model – Team

·       England Women’s Cricket Team

·       England women’s national football team / The Lionesses

·       England Women (Rugby)

·       GB Taekwondo Women’s Team

·       Team McNeill

·       UWS Sirens


Ambassador of Women’s Sport

·       Clare Connor CBE

·       Helen Falkus

·       Joanna Rowsell-Shand

·       Lorna Boothe

·       Sharon Fuller

·       Stefan Wyman


National Governing Body of the Year

·       England and Wales Cricket Board

·       England Athletics

·       GB Short Track Speed Skating (under NISA)

·       Netball Scotland

·       Parkour UK

·       Scottish Karate Governing Body


Brand / Sponsor Partnership of the Year


·       Investec is ‘Principal Partner of GB and England Women’s Hockey’


·       OVO Energy Women’s Tour

·       O2 & England Rugby

·       Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters


Inspiring Initiative – National

·       England Athletics

·       England Rugby’s Inner Warrior campaign

·       She Rallies

·       TeamUp

·       The Silk Series

·       Women’s Adventure Expo CIC


Inspiring Initiative – Local

·       Opening Boundaries #BowlingOut Campaign

·       Bristol Rugby Community Foundation Eagle Project

·       Crawley Old Girls (COGs)

·       Muslimah Sports Association

·       Torfaen Sports Development – #ifyougoigo

·       Women and Girls Cricket Celebration Days


Media Initiative of the Year

·       BBC Sport Live Streaming

·       Channel 4 Women’s Euros 2017

·       Same City, Same Passion (Manchester City)

·       Sky Sports Cricket

·       The Guardian’s weekly women’s football glog

·       The Tough Girl Podcast


Imagery of the Year

·       BMC TV Women in Adventure film competition

·       ECB Women’s Cricket

·       Liv Cooke

·       Making Waves in the Volvo Ocean Race

·       Salute the Lionesses

·       Standing in the Light


About Women’s Sport Trust
Founded in 2012, the Women’s Sport Trust is the most influential charity for women’s sport in the UK. It is dedicated to raising the visibility and increasing the profile of women’s sport. 
This is achieved through the promotion of diverse athlete role models, increased media coverage and an improved funding landscape. The Women’s Sport Trust has relationships with the UK’s leading female athletes and influencers from across the business of sport. Patrons include Anna Watkins MBE, Kate Richardson-Walsh OBE, Kelly Smith MBE, Sophie Christiansen CBE and Maggie Alphonsi MBE. 

Connect with Women’s Sport Trust:

Twitter: @womensporttrust



You Tube: